The End of the iPhone Era

I can’t believe I fell for it.

Before I bought my iPhone, I considered the purchase long and hard. I knew full well what I was getting myself into. I could choose the iPhone and commit my soul to AT&T and Apple’s controlling nature for the next two years. “But the iPhone is so awesome!” I thought. It has a big touch screen, it has apps for everything including Facebook and YouTube. You can check your email, watch movies, listen to music, and browse the ‘real’ web.
I specifically remember telling myself, “Sure, Apple might reject apps and might be evil, but I want to give them the benefit of the doubt. I want to give them a chance. Maybe they won’t be evil.”
Up until now, everything was fine.
And then yesterday happened. Apple and AT&T denied the Google Voice app from the iPhone App Store.
I won’t get into the details about Google Voice or why it was denied entry. Sure, I can live without a native iPhone app for Google Voice. I guarantee that Google develops a nice web app for iPhone users as a consolation.
The point is, the app was perfectly legitimate. It was created using Apple’s own SDK. It doesn’t do anything that cannot be done already from google.com/voice (the app just made it easier and faster to use the service). But the overly-controlling Apple and AT&T rejected it. The most likely reason behind the rejection is that AT&T was afraid that Google Voice would steal some precious revenue from its (overpriced) SMS packages.
This is why openness will win the end–when you piss off your loyal fanbase, they turn on you forever. I will never buy an Apple product ever again. When my AT&T contract is over, I will immediately switch to a new carrier, and never give a single cent to AT&T again. When my friends come to me and ask me about my experience with either company, I will do my best to steer them clear of both Apple and AT&T. Apple and AT&T are evil.
It’s over. It was fun while it lasted.
PS: I think this Android phone is going to be my next phone:

One Response to “The End of the iPhone Era”

  1. mike Says:

    there are so many articles and forums I found by rapidshare SE discussing iphone vs android… sick and tired of it frankly speaking… each product has its fans and those who hate it, it's normal! but I wouldn't make such conclusions.

Leave a Reply

