Do Dogs Have Emotions?

Here’s my dog, Monster. Isn’t he great?
He loves to put his belly on the cool hardwood floors when it’s hot outside. Check out his hind legs:

He’s cute and he knows it. I got him in September of 2006, and the little guy definitely lives up to his name. Earlier today, he almost chewed through the cap on the bottle of some Gorilla Glue:

There’s no doubt about it: I love my dog. My question for you is, do you think he’s capable of loving me back? Do dogs have emotions?
Back in college, I took a philosophy class where I learned that most of the well-known philosophers (Plato, Aristotle, Socrates, Nietzsche, etc) believed that animals were incapable of emotion, or “feelings”. Of all the heated topics in that class, nothing even came close to the mayhem that ensued during the debates on this subject.
So, all the “smart guys” think the answer is no. What do you think? Do you have a story that serves as proof? Leave a comment and let me know!
I think you know my opinion. 🙂
6 Responses to “Do Dogs Have Emotions?”

  1. goooooood girl Says:

    i like your blog……

  2. Bob Says:

    hahahaI love it! I miss those arguments. specially when you (and Chris) were mad when I said they didn’t have emotions. Even though I totally believe they do!

  3. Nikki Says:

    Ben’s family used to have a mutt named Riley who would go berserk if Chris and Zach got too far away from the house. Riley was very protective of Chris and Zach, so when she couldn’t keep track of them (the herding part in her), it made her very anxious: barking, whimpering, scratching up the door frames, the whole nine yards. She didn’t do this with everyone, just the boys.I’d say she had feelings. I’m not sure what else you could chalk that up to.Similarly, our landlords’ dog Sawyer and an old family friend’s dog Abby both had separation anxiety issues for a long time and would tear up the house when their families would leave them, including doing their bathroom business inside.

  4. Rose Says:

    You think the glue cap is bad, ha ha. Yesterday I found glass all over the house. One of the dogs ate a light bulb. We have a whole entire couch that’s destroyed and any wood item in our house is chewed, including the baseboards, piano, coffee table, etc!!! Books and DVD’s on the shelves don’t stand a chance either … all chewed! One time, the heater man came to do the yearly clean and check on our furnace. The dogs got mad because they couldn’t meet the visitor so while he was in the basement Sputnik peed into the vent on the floor right above the guy’s head and he and all his tools got soaked by an unbelievably large waterfall of dog urine!!!!!! Oh, and forget about leaving them in cages. Comet mysteriously is able to get out even when it’s pad locked and wrapped in chain?!?! And he leaves no signs of how he escaped. Anyhow, I would say dogs do have feelings. Our will cry when they are upset, get revenge when they are mad, and go nuts when they are happy. And if you like those dog stories I have TONS more! Comet jump kicked a window in our house and broke out a huge chunk of glass. They escape from out of town houses we visit and police show up because of scared residents calling about loose pit bulls wondering the streets. Ok, I’ll stop … I really could go on FOREVER! Tip from someone with real monster dogs: Never let your dog see you do something that you don’t want them to know how to do. Open doors, turn on lights, use the toilet. Don’t show them ANYTHING! They are studying your every move …

  5. CJ Says:

    LOL Rose, that’s awesome!

  6. Rand Says:

    There’s no debate – dogs do have emotions :)Recent studies showed that dogs can experience a MUCH wider range of emotions than previously thought, namely jealousy! The researchers did a number of tests with many repetitions and showed that a dog can certainly appear to experience deeply rooted jealousy.I think we all know that dogs can experience emotions, what irks me is that it CAN’T be proven!And Bob, you’re right, those were some awesome debates – legendary I’d say – in the hearts and minds of all involved!

Leave a Reply

