How I got banned from Digg

It all started last night. I’m reading my RSS feeds and I come across an article on Digg.

Spread this number. Now.
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0. It’s the HD-DVD processing key you can use to decrypt and play most HD-DVD movies in Linux. Movie studios are going ballistic over this leak, so Digg the story up and make it reach the front page.

Are you serious? That’s awesome! Somebody found a key that allows Linux users watch HD-DVDs! Naturally, I wanted to find out more, so I clicked the link. Much to my dismay, that story had been deleted from Digg already. Why is this story gone? Who deleted it? How dare they?! They can’t censor that kind of stuff can they? I go back to my Google Reader, copy and paste the entire thing into a new story, and resubmit it.

I went to sleep, and didn’t think much about what I had done.

Until morning.

Upon reading my RSS feeds again, and come across MY story, on the front page of Digg!


I click the link and there’s over 15,000 votes! I felt like a hero reading all the comments that people were writing. Comments like:

  • It’s times like these when all I can say is: I love digg.
  • OMG THIS DAY IS BEAUTIFUL!!! I WANT TO HUG MY FELLOW GEEKS!!!!

Other comments say that Digg itself was down for 10 minutes because of the rate this story was getting dugg. People were getting 404s when trying to reach Digg. Even Duggmirror went down.

So I’m reading the comments, and every once in a while I’d refresh the page a few times to see how high the digg count would climb. And then it happened. First, the comments all disappeared, and then the story itself disappeared. And then, my digg account disappeared. My account is no longer valid.

There you have it folks, if you submit a story that Digg needs to censor, your account too will be deleted.

But wait. There’s more.

My friend Chris Haley was smart enough to save the entire page at almost the height of its fame. At 15,492 Diggs, HERE IS THE FULL ARTICLE IN ALL ITS GLORY. All the comments are there. You can even expand the hidden comments. Thanks Chris!

So who knows what’s gonna happen next? Leave a comment. 😀 Also, please support me by Digging this article!

6 Responses to “How I got banned from Digg”

  1. Erik Bergmann Says:

    Well, I thumbed up your article on Stumble upon, and I suggest you encourage others to do the same to get this article into the public consciousness. I’ve thought about using digg before, but that’s some seriously fucked up.

  2. Chris Says:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digg#CriticismPwnsome.

  3. Stoopid Sooner Fan Says:

    A) Digg and its geektard community (by in large) suck.B) Im all for them deleting your post.

  4. Nate Says:

    Digg pissed me off lately too… anyone else that is annoyed by digg and what not feel free to vent about it at http://www.muttr.com

  5. SupMike Says:

    That's such a pity… you got banned for nothing. Try to share your article at Dbuf for free.

  6. Jason Says:

    According to Wikki they fixed this issue because of the complaints.AACS encryption key controversy Wikinews has related news: Digg.com suffers user revolt; Founder will not fightMain article: AACS encryption key controversyOn May 1, 2007 an article appeared on Digg’s homepage that contained the encryption key for the AACS digital rights management protection of HD DVD and Blu-ray Disc. Then Digg, "acting on the advice of its lawyers," removed posting submissions about the secret number from its database and banned several users for submitting it. The removals were seen by many Digg users as a capitulation to corporate interests and an assault on free speech.[46] A statement by Jay Adelson attributed the article’s take-down to an attempt to comply with cease and desist letters from the Advanced Access Content System consortium and cited Digg’s Terms of Use as justification for taking down the article.[47] Although some users defended Digg's actions,[48][49][50] as a whole the community staged a widespread revolt with numerous articles and comments being made using the encryption key.[51][52] The scope of the user response was so great that one of the Digg users referred to it as a "digital Boston Tea Party".[53] The response was also directly responsible for Digg reversing the policy and stating: "But now, after seeing hundreds of stories and reading thousands of comments, you’ve made it clear. You’d rather see Digg go down fighting than bow down to a bigger company. We hear you, and effective immediately we won’t delete stories or comments containing the code and will deal with whatever the consequences might be."[54]

Leave a Reply

